Snatches: Moments from 100 Years of Women's Lives - Eight Monologues

Snatches: Moments from 100 Years of Women's Lives - Eight Monologues

by Vicky Featherstone, Various

A young actress meets a powerful film producer in his hotel suite. A revolutionary leads an attack on a colonial club in India. A bereaved mother defends herself against charges of infanticide.

Snatches: Moments from 100 Years of Women’s Lives documents, remembers and bears witness to a century of struggle for progress and equality for women in the United Kingdom.

Moving, funny, tragic and empowering, these eight monologues address the constant efforts of women to carve out their rights both in domestic and public spheres – from the criminalisation of marital rape to the first Reclaim the Night march – proclaiming a history of perseverance and resilience shown by women’s rights activists in this country.

Curated by Royal Court Artistic Director, Vicky Featherstone, the monologues for Snatches were commissioned to mark the centenary of women’s suffrage in the United Kingdom. They were broadcast on BBC Four in 2018, directed by Vanessa Caswill, Vicky Featherstone and Rachna Suri, and starring Jodie Comer, Siobhan Finneran, Romola Garai, Shirley Henderson, Liv Hill, Corinne Skinner-Carter, Kiran Sonia Sawar and Antonia Thomas.

This volume includes:

Pig Life by E V Crowe

Tipping Point by Rachel De-lahay

Pritilata by Tanika Gupta

Multiples by Zinnie Harris

Outside by Theresa Ikoko

Reclaim the Night by Charlene James

Bovril Pam by Vicky Jones

Compliance by Abi Morgan